Holland | 16 & 17 hundred series Trucks

scottsbarnparts

TB Lurker
Credits
We will be getting a couple of new trucks soon and I need some feedback on the Smart-Axle system these trucks come with. Driving in the snow it seems would be challenging!

We will be getting a couple of new trucks soon and I need some feedback on the Smart-Axle system these trucks come with. Driving in the snow it seems would be challenging!
I can't help you with the snow I have no experience yet. I have had some problems with 17 series not airing up when you first start them and you have to start driving them and then they air up going down road. I have been informed that you turn the key to the on position wait for the gauges to cycle and then start the truck. You have to watch for green suspension light to flash and while it is flashing you push the button to air suspension once and it will inflate, I was told this only works if you catch it while the light is flashing and not while it is staying lit solid. When you first start driving them you have to get use to making sure your foot is on brake when you put it in drive or reverse. Be prepared when people cut you off or pull in short in front of you or even if a truck makes a curve ahead of you into your path those brakes will come on quick and hard and it sure does wake you up if you have the adaptive cruise control on. I got to check out one of the two Peterbilts they are trying out in Jackson earlier this week #17999 I sure did like the looks of it and the driver talked very highly of it. It looks a lot nicer that the Freightliner in my opinion. The driver said the fuel mileage was very good once Holland kept their hands off of it. Hard to believe that Peterbilt knows more about getting fuel mileage out of a truck than our crack staff of mechanics!