FedEx Freight | 25 yr. man loses posistion @ FedEx national

Low Ride 3&8

TB Lurker
Credits
Why is it that their are different rules for everybody,I was out on medical leave for 4 months.and came back to work and lost my position.I was a linehaul driver for 25 yrs now I'm a city driver on call.After talking to other drivers from freight and national that were in my position out on medical leave the same amount time and longer they said they didn't lose their position..I need some help on this matter.

You are protected by Federal law (Family Medical Leave Act) for 12 weeks. After that the company can do anything they like.

Did you stay in contact with your terminal manager while you were on leave? There have been exceptions to the 12 week leave where drivers came back without losing their position, but I think it's up to the terminal leaders.

Here's the FMLA rundown.

EMPLOYER COVERAGE

The FMLA applies to all public agencies, including state, local and federal employers, local education agencies (schools), and private-sector employers who employed 50 or more employees in 20 or more workweeks in the current or preceding calendar year, including joint employers and successors of covered employers.

EMPLOYEE ELIGIBILITY

To be eligible for FMLA benefits, an employee must:

* work for a covered employer;
* have worked for the employer for a total of 12 months;
* have worked at least 1,250 hours over the previous 12 months; and
* work at a location in the United States or in any territory or possession of the United States where at least 50 employees are employed by the employer within 75 miles.