ABF | Are All Fulltime City/Dock Employees CDL Qualified?

Steward of the Rock

TB Veteran
Credits
Hello. I am new at this and look forward to learning about how things operate at other terminals throughout the ABF System. Here at 004, the company has always required new fulltime employees to be CDL Qualified for Dock/City work or go to an ABF endorsed driving school to become fulltime. Just recently ABF started hiring fulltime Dock employees without CDL's and we are having trouble getting the company to send these new fulltime employees to driving school to become CDL qualified like the rest of us. Now, we have employees getting their seniority violated by being forced on a city run with junior employees not being forced remaining on the dock because they are not CDL qualified. I was just curious how other Breakbulks handle this situation as the majority at 004 feel that all fulltime employees should be CDL Qualified because we were all forced to have or to get our CDL's before we were offered fulltime employment and now must maintain our CDL's or be pulled out of service by the company. Any info. on this topic from other terminals would be greatly appreciated. Thank You for your time and I look forward to future communication with my fellow ABFer's.

Steward of the Rock welcome to trucking boards. Good to have ya along for the ride. I run linehaul out of 051/WNS and to be honest I don't know if they require CDLs or not. I worked casual on the dock for 10 months before I was hired to linehaul and had mine long before I came there. Maybe Harleydad75 or Freakzilla will be along in a short and they can tell ya exactly how the Dock/yard/city works.
Look forward to hearing more from you. Tell your fellow workers about us.