Best way to start a foodservice driver career with Sysco?

outdriving

TB Lurker
Credits
I have no commercial driving experience and I'd like to work for Sysco or another company if I can't get into Sysco. My question is what's the quickest way to getting behind the wheel? I know getting my permit will help.

Also, what does Sysco consider a "clean" driving record? I have no DUI'S and 1 speeding ticket in the last 5 years.

Thanks !

Foodservice driving. The high paying job that everyone wants until they have it. Kind of sort of kidding (I think). Turnover IS high but once you get used to it it's really not all that bad.
I'd say your record is fine, but it all really depends on your local labor market. If they have stacks of applications sitting around they may be more picky than most.
Used to be Sysco wouldn't even call you without 2yrs experience, and I'd bet that quite a few if not most of the houses are still like that, but we're so hard up for help here (KC) that they're hiring people off the street with no license and in a couple cases that I know of without even having permits yet and training them. It's going to be an interesting winter here with these guys on the streets.
I got mine with a beverage company (Coke). They did the same thing, though most of the driver trainees were already employed there as merchandisers and got permits.