Bump fire stock

Discussion in 'Politics' started by Keepingon, Oct 5, 2017.

1. Keepingon

Keepingon Well-Known Member

I'm all for people's right to own guns. I own two guns To protect my home and family. But I am far from an expert on guns and now it seems we see a bill to ban bump stock fire devices.

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/10/04/us/politics/bump-stock-fire-legal-republicans-congress.html

What is bump fire stock ?

I don't think I need to fire 800 rounds in a minute to protect my home and family or to hunt. Accuracy can not be an argument for this device as we have just unfortunately learned in Vegas with this thing you don't need to be accurate firing into crowds. I know some on here are very very pro gun rights but i am Interested in hearing their thoughts on this device.

Northern Flash likes this.
  2. ABFer

ABFer Super Moderator Staff Member

I didn't watch that video but it probably shows what it is. It's a stock that lets the rifle rock back and forth off of the recoil as it shoots and lets the gun fire almost like a machine gun. I didn't know that they did what they do either. I don't think that they're practical in the field (during a war) and, myself, don't want one. From what I have heard many won't mind if they're banned but the concern is that it opens the door for more controls.

jimmy g, falconfan, JIM BOB and 3 others like this.
  3. ABFer

One of the things that has to happen for a gun to fire full auto is that the bolt has to close then the hammer has to be released. You can't just file a sear so it won't stay open and get full auto, the hammer will follow the bolt back into place and the firing pin will not get 'swatted' like it has to to activate the primer. That bump-fire stock makes that happen in a different way than the way machine guns are made.

4. Northern Flash

Northern Flash Piss on our Flag, get a boycott against you.