ODFL | Does anyone know when the dryspell is going to end ?

CaMaRo82

TB Lurker
Credits
Im a linehaul driver out of the DES terminal and its been really slow to the point were i sometimes work just one day a week is this normal around this time of year?

its normally slow around this time of year,
but if your working 1 day a week that isnt
normal.

my guess its a combination of both too many
new drivers and not enough freight.

maybe you should consider running wild?

4 months

Im a linehaul driver out of the DES terminal and its been really slow to the point were i sometimes work just one day a week is this normal around this time of year?

In most places this dry spell has been 4 months long.It used to be there were a few times every year when you could count on having freight.When the stores were being loaded with school supplies and clothes,Christmas,and tax refund time.But this time I believe most refunds will go on late bills.Who knows when it will pick up,a drought this long and wide spread is past just about everbodys experience.

CaMaRo82 welcome to trucking boards. Good to have you along for the ride.:smilie_132: Tell your co-workers about us!:1036316054:

I wish I knew the answer to your question 'cause I could sure make a ton of money if I was that good at predicting the future!

picking up ????????

Had a couple guys on the GBO dock tell me the freight has been heavy past 2 days.Is it coming back?Who knows ? But that's the first time I've heard the word "heavy" in a while.

I copied this article off one of the articles about the recent growth of OD and thought it was kind of associated with this thread.

Old Dominion Chairman and CEO Earl Congdon Jr. attributed much of the growth to an increase in business at service centers that had been open at least one year. The company added 28 service centers in 2006, bringing its network to 182.