FedEx Freight | Extra board info

atldrivah

TB Lurker
Credits
what's up guys. I'm new to the ltl world and fedex. I've got 2 years of otr and I've been here for 2 months. Due to guys leaving, there is an open slot available at my center for the last extra board bid. Anyone have any info on how the extra board works? I've heard you can be on call for a 2 hour window, I've also heard there is a 4 hour window. Would I get any decent runs since I'd be dead last on the board? Also what happens if there are no runs available? I'm in the Atlanta area if that helps. thanks

It goes by board seniority and you are last so

if an extra run is available they will call in extra board seniority , I am a #1 extra board driver so they call me first, I have the option to take the run or pass the run down.

Your call block is from 5-9 am and 5-9pm
You have the option of signing a call block waiver and if you do they can call you to work anytime you have 10 ours off duty.

I don't think you will have problems getting runs but being last you should sign the call block waiver if you want to work more and get better runs

hey man thanks for the reply. Are you forced to do weekend work or is it optional still? Also, we had a few guys come off their bids to the extra board, could I theoretically be kicked off the extra board if enough senior drivers come down?

For weekend work there are usually enough volunteers but if not you are forced from the bottom up if you have the hours if its a run that has to go. You could be kicked off the extra board but that is highly doubtful in the ATL area. I would suggest you familiarize yourself with the rail yards being in ATL. All in all I would say you'll be sitting pretty good about a year from now due to the hiring spree.