Estes | hope it's not true

DW5thousand

TB Lurker
Credits
Well I dont know if I'm behind on the news or what but I heard ( I HEARD) "drivertalk" now, that there were over 200 people laid off in the western half. I HOPE I heard wrong, but I want to say if it's true "guys, for what it's worth, I AM truley sorry" if any of you were affected by this. Again I hope this is NOT true. I'm a driver myself (L/H), and I or alot of us could be next. Seems to me managment needs to wake up and realize where all the "dead weight" is coming from. Drivers GENERATE revenue,,,,,,,,,,,,,,management DRAWS it!!!!

I heard it was 40 something. I know Boise lost 2. I think Pocatello lost 2, Portland 0
Reno 0 I think. I have not heard of 200plus. That would be a huge reduction and would have more terminals with huge layoffs. I have not heard of huge layoffs in the northwest, just a few here and there.

WHY the lay offs? no freight or is estes going down the tubes?they did not start laying off guys until nov of last year.# 165 let 7 drivers 13 dock workers and 2 dock bosses go last nov.none of those guys were rehired.is it just getting worse at estes?WHAT HAPPENED TO THE GREAT BIG E?

WHY the lay offs? no freight or is estes going down the tubes?they did not start laying off guys until nov of last year.# 165 let 7 drivers 13 dock workers and 2 dock bosses go last nov.none of those guys were rehired.is it just getting worse at estes?WHAT HAPPENED TO THE GREAT BIG E?
Good point roadmann. We have been drastically slow for about a year and a half now. Thats a long time to just blame it on a slow economy. Especially when freight haulers like Old Dominion,Triple A,R&L,.......are leaving us behind by about 10 to 15 %. Well, thats the number I was told. Not to mention what the big boys are doing,,,,UPS freight,,,,,,Fed Ex freight.