FedEx Freight | Is it just me?

starvinpurple

TB Lurker
Credits
I'm a city driver at a hub which will remain unidentified. :)
I think the following scenario happens to us all, city and line drivers alike, and I'm curious to know if what's being expected of me is as widespread as I suspect.
Here's the story:
As a city driver, if I'm pulling a single trailer, I'm expected to be out the gate within 18 minutes of punching in. That means I've got to accomplish the following in about 15 minutes:
Endure pre-shift meeting lasting at least three minutes
Walk to other end of LONG dock
Find AM crew lead and ask which door my trailer is in
Check load (if it's even finished) and secure it properly
Find straps, rope, pallet jack, hand truck and put in trailer
Proceed to front office, pick up handheld and paperwork (re-boot handheld!)
Look at every DR for appointments, potential issues, etc.... communicate concerns to dispatch if necessary
Find a tractor
Pretrip tractor
Hook trailer
Move fifth wheel all the way back to accommodate 48-footer (usually requires some cursing and persuasion with a 5# hammer)
Pretrip trailer
Sequence stops in handheld
Proceed to gate, wait at least three minutes for security to record my equipment etc.

Is there anybody out there who thinks all this is physically possible? If so, you're wearing a red shirt and have never done my job or even had a ride-along.

Anyway.... yes, there's a point to this, I'm getting there...!

Since yard time ("gate time" for you line drivers) is SO important to this company, here's what I actually do:
Sit thru pre-shift while drumming fingers on table
Walk "briskly" down the dock, find my trailer for myself, throw in pallet jack, close door
Get handheld and paperwork from office
Find tractor, any tractor
Skip pretrip, start it up, go hook trailer
Roughly drag fifth wheel to rear position under loaded trailer
Pull the whole mess to the gate
Wait for security (no shortcuts here)