SAIA | Is it true that SAIA will not hire ex union employees.

Hiiii

TB Lurker
Credits
I have applied at SAIA and as a back up also applied to a union barn that is severly understaffed

i have 8 years tractor trailer experience but non ltl. I also have a clean record.

If SAIA does not hire me can i accept a job at a union barn to gain ltl experience and apply at SAIA after a year.

Will this jeopardise my chances with SAIA since i have read here that SAIA avoids ex union.

I have done a month of research and i have read a lot more good then Bad on SAIA, so this is where i want to end up.

I appreciate all ypur advise.

Thanks.

You're going to probably receive a few different answers to this, but I think for the most part, Saia shys away from hiring ex union employees. Why is another question for another time.

Anyone know any other non union that is understaffed to get some ltl experience.
I am based out of Columbus, OH.

There is no such thing as needing LTL experience. I believe Saia requires I year of tractor trailer experience and certain endorsements but other than that, they will teach you what you need to know. Did you apply for Linehaul or City?

There is no such thing as needing LTL experience. I believe Saia requires I year of tractor trailer experience and certain endorsements but other than that, they will teach you what you need to know. Did you apply for Linehaul or City?
This is true. We hire our dock guys and we teach them to drive so I'm not sure what's up in your situation. If your young it would probably help but as long as your willing to learn and have some sort of humility and a good personality you should be fine. As far as being an ex-union guy it would be hard to say. We do have some but I'm not sure on that one.

I have applied at SAIA and as a back up also applied to a union barn that is severly understaffed

i have 8 years tractor trailer experience but non ltl. I also have a clean record.