ABF | Layoff At 004

Steward of the Rock

TB Veteran
Credits
Hello everyone. I just wanted to let everyone know that might be interested that fourteen (14) road drivers received their layoff notice this past week here at Little Rock (004). So far there has not been a layoff in the City/Dock or Shop, but it is starting to get a little slow on the dock where I work. I would be interested in hearing from others out there if the layoffs have already started at your terminal. Hopefully this time won't be as bad as it was in 2002 and 2003.

At 051 we have 10 laid off of the dock and 2 out of the city. I don't know about linehaul and I am pretty sure our shop has never laid off.:hide: HD75

Company Layoff's

I am new to the industry and as a new driver never knew about layoff periods in the industry. As I read thru many company forums, I am shocked, yet disappointed to see fellow professionals being laidoff. Is this common during this time of year, or is this due in part to the economy etc..... For those facing a layoff, I have been there, keep your head up!! As I looked into this line of work, I was told that this industry is an essential and we are trained professionals always in need. :USA:

I am new to the industry and as a new driver never knew about layoff periods in the industry. As I read thru many company forums, I am shocked, yet disappointed to see fellow professionals being laidoff. Is this common during this time of year, or is this due in part to the economy etc..... For those facing a layoff, I have been there, keep your head up!! As I looked into this line of work, I was told that this industry is an essential and we are trained professionals always in need. :USA:

Every year they always lay off a few at 051. I think the worst I've seen is 26 in 2001-2002. We all were pretty nervous that year. Last year we only had 4 off of the City and 4 off the Dock.HD75

layoffs