Linehaul vs OTR for rookie trucker and young family

2BucTruck

TB Lurker
Credits
Hello drivers,
I posted a few weeks ago. I graduated from CDL school a few weeks ago, have my hazmat, doubles/triples, and tank endorsements. OD is hiring in my area and I applied for the L/H opening. Already took drug and road test, had photo ID taken, just waiting on corporate sometime this week for approval. I've got a young family and we are very thankful for this opportunity right out of trucking school. My wife would've supported me going OTR, but she obviously wants me home more. I know she'd be disappointed if I went OTR when I could've done L/H. I'll be making $20.65 per hour during 4 week training, then moving to cpm for my L/H job.

Am I crazy for still wondering about going OTR? I had my eye on Shaffer before this L/H opportunity came. I know I'll make more and be home more often w/ the L/H gig. I'm just wondering about the quality of home time since I'll be night shift and will have to keep to that schedule even during my days off. I know eventually I could get an opportunity to make a bid on a day L/H run, but I'm pretty sure those are limited and that might take awhile to get that kind of seniority. I have no interest in P&D. I want to drive. Shaffer does offer bi-weekly home time, so I wouldn't have to be out a month at a time. I'd get two days off for two weeks out, my own assigned truck, won't have to drive just nights - although I've been told there are a lot of night appointments for reefer. Don't get me wrong, I'm not complaining about the L/H job and what comes with it, I'm just comparing the two. Everything tells me that the L/H gig would be the way to go, and that I shouldn't squander the opportunity. If I go OTR and later decide I want to try the L/H gig, it might not be available at that time.