R&L | Looking to defect from Yellow

HeadRush

TB Lurker
Credits
I've been driving for Yellow for about 7 months and besides it being slow a little too often there are other things that just don't make it a good fit for me. I was wondering if you guys could asnwer a few questions for me. Any information is much appreciated.

I see that R+L is hiring teams out of Chicago:

What are the chances of me getting hired with less than 1 yr. of experience (8 mos. total)?

I have a friend that works for Con-Way with less experience than I do. What's the possibility of us getting on a team together?

How long is the probationary period?

What's the starting pay, benefits, and do you like them?

What kind of equipment do you guys run and how is the company's attitude towards keeping it in good shape?

If anyone has worked for Yellow or Roadway and made the switch, your insight would help a lot. I'm not looking to get rich or run myself into the ground. I would just like to make a decent and steady income without playing games.

You probably have a good chance, it would be best to talk to them in person. The probation or "introductory" period is 120 days, you'll start getting insurance after 60 though. I don't know what mileage pay is for teams, I've heard from some former team drivers that they would gross $1600-$1900 per driver a week. Our teams usually run around 5 days out and back in for 2 days. Most all the sleepers are Internationals with a few Freightshaker Columbias around too. Some shops are better than others at keeping them in good shape and I've never had a probelm with getting anything fixed if I write it up.