Making home made wine

shadowr434

TB Veteran
Super Moderator
PREMIUM
Credits
Just wondering if anyone else makes wine. I've been doing it now for a few months now and have completed 2 batches so far. So far I've used 2 WinExpert kits. My first kit was a little tough as it was a Piesporter Riesling and the elder flowers you add are difficult to clean out. My second one was a 4 grape blend and came out purely perfect. I have two more kits I'm gonna start at some point but I'm also getting ready to make a Orange Chocolate Port soon that I plan on infusing with Brandy. Wine has been a passion of mine for a while and making my own now has become a real love of mine.

when i had seen the prices of the kits, the time involved, and then the ingredients, i said....it's easier to go to the store, buy what i want cheaper.

i can get a gallon of Livingston, or Gallo, Paul Masson (and other house branded) wines, for just under $15 per gallon.....

but for you folk that like it, like the flavors you produce, and have some spare time, good for you, i am happy for you.

for me, open wallet, take out cash, get outta store.....

when i had seen the prices of the kits, the time involved, and then the ingredients, i said....it's easier to go to the store, buy what i want cheaper.

i can get a gallon of Livingston, or Gallo, Paul Masson (and other house branded) wines, for just under $15 per gallon.....

but for you folk that like it, like the flavors you produce, and have some spare time, good for you, i am happy for you.

for me, open wallet, take out cash, get outta store.....

Its really not as expensive as you think. I actually started making wine to save money but I don't drink cheap wine either so there is that. After the initial investment in equipment which was under a hundred, the cost per bottle runs around 2.50 to 4.00 a bottle. Each batch of wine makes about 28 to 30 bottles and the quality is far better than your cheap wines with a much higher alcohol content.