Mt. Joy (Lancaster, PA) terminal questions

rjg

TB Lurker
Credits
Hi guys, I'm a newbie here on the boards and don't have LTL experience so really don't know how that system operates.

NEMF opened a terminal in Mt. Joy which is only a few miles from where I live. I am considering applying for a job but before I go through that process I would like to make sure that I could actually work from that terminal... as in drive my car there and pick up a truck and go. It seems like a small terminal so I just want to make sure that it isn't just some kind of transfer facility or something. Again, I only have a little idea of how the LTL system works so any tips will be appreciated.

All LTL basically works the same. You have two kinds of drivers. P & D or local drivers and line haul drivers.

If you are a P & D driver you will deliver and make pick up for your terminal and you go home every night. If you are a line haul driver you bring the freight betweem terminals and you may be out overnight or even for a few days.

It all depends on what the terminal is looking for and what kind of experience you may have.

Mount Joy Terminal

How people are at this terminal? NEMF is with the Machinist Union, right? I found that there is 56 doors at the terminal.

From reading these threads it seems most don't like the P&D but prefer linehaul. I guess P&D would be harder work, so does that pay more? Or is pay generally based on senority? Maybe someone starts out as a P&D and then moves to linehaul and better pay?

I am delivering soda right now, have been for nearly seven years. They're cutting my pay so I am not very happy!

From reading these threads it seems most don't like the P&D but prefer linehaul. I guess P&D would be harder work, so does that pay more? Or is pay generally based on senority? Maybe someone starts out as a P&D and then moves to linehaul and better pay?

I am delivering soda right now, have been for nearly seven years. They're cutting my pay so I am not very happy!