XPO | New Conway Freight driver with question about flexboard

tonyb

TB Lurker
Credits
Hi everyone. I've been driving for 2 1/2 years. Started out OTR and then got a local job. Changed companies a few times due to lack of work/hours. I got a job offer from Conway Freight in Milan, Ohio last month and was told that although they couldn't guarantee me full-time hours all the time, they were very busy. Also, I had been driving an hour each way on all of my prior jobs and this job is only 15 minutes from my house -- with the price of gas, being this close to work was an added bonus. So, I took the job. When I talked to the other guys at the terminal, they said they always take home decent paychecks and that the drivers who leave Conway don't leave because of lack of work/bad paychecks (at least not at this terminal). Even the newer guys with only a year said they worked pretty consistently all year. Well, I finished my training and have been on my own since April 25th. I was placed on night line-haul. My very first day "on my own," I got called off due to lack of loads. It was the day after Easter and the weather was really bad, so I assumed that was the reason. I worked the remaining 4 days that week. Then, this week, there was no work for me on Monday and now again, tonight, there isn't any work. I totally understand that I'm the new guy and at the bottom of the ladder. But, I just didn't expect to be off 3 days out of my first 8. This doesn't fare well for my expectations of full-time work. Is this pretty "normal"? Had I known this, I probably wouldn't have taken this job, as I just can't support my wife and 4 kids working 3 days a week. Any idea how long it takes to move up the ladder high enough to get at least 40 hours of work a week? Can I expect work to get more stable as we get into summer? I'm grateful to have a job, but the whole reason I've changed companies over the last 2 years was due to lack of work. I can probably handle working short weeks here and th