ABF | Question on linehaul

Moneyman01

Proud to be a dad!
Credits
I see that ABF is hiring for linehaul here in MN. What is it like starting out? Are you a system driver and gone all week or do you just go out and back? Thinking about throwing my application in but if I gotta be gone all week I won't because I can't be gone all week long. Also back when I was 18 I was casual on the dock for a couple months. But during those 2 months they only called me twice then I quit and found a different job. Will that affect me?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

I'm a road driver out west. You are usually 1 night and back the next day. I have been extended 2 to 3 day but that is rare. This is a great co. to work for. I have no regrets coming here. Good luck:bgroovy:

I am wondering why they have 25 + locations looking for line haul now? Seasonal for vacations? Retiring drivers? What gives let us know. Thanks

Probably a combination of retirees and vacations. This is one of the few remaining career jobs in trucking. Once you get through your first year, and hit your stride, they expect you to be here for the next 25 or 30 years. Because of that,....and other conditions peculiar to the trucking industry in general,....truck drivers are at least 10 years older than the rest of the working population,.......and there's a glut of us Baby-Boomers right around retirement age. Once all the chatter and fluff and B.S. about the Affordable Care Act dies down by next year, and guys like me realize you don't have to wait to Medicare age to retire, because Obamacare has made it much more affordable than the COBRA Act bill you used to get prior to age 65,.......there will be the King-Hell Mother of all driver shortages,......and, believe me, the employers know it. That's why you'll see a big hiring push in the trucking industry in the next couple of months. Pick a good one. Pick a career one,...if you're changing jobs now.