R&L | System Driver

LineHawl

Travelin' Dockworker
Credits
Hello,
I'm a Con-way linehaul driver and I am curious what its like to be a system driver for R+L..
How far are the runs usually? Can you choose to stay out instead of doing local runs? I heard from a buddy that hooking a set/hooking up isn't paid, is anything else not paid or paid? PTI paid? Are you basically mileage only? What is the starting rate for mileage in OH? Most importantly, do you have to work the dock? If not, do you just wait in the dispatch room for your bills? Are you paid for this or not? How strict are they on hiring and what do they look for? Also, do they do bids or if you hire as a system driver you remain a system driver? How do you get your nightly runs? Call in, or? As a system driver do you run both doubles and vans or one or the other?

I'm just trying to get the low down basically.

This company thru out all of thoughs crazy ideas of how to run a LTL company.
In 10 years I've never packed an overnight bag. All are linehaul runs are Lifetime bids. I have been told to turn around and go back to my terminal when my switch driver didn't show up, instead of going thru to the destination terminal and laying down and coming back the next day. As for linehaul pay it is another story not like Conway.
It is a different for each terminal and state. California just went hourly for linehaul.
The rest of us get 1 hour for hooking dropping and fueling. Then for every 50 miles 1 hour at your terminals rate and 5 year pay scale.
No pay for waiting.