SAIA | Taking that leap.....

nrpick

TB Lurker
Credits
Hello fellas,

Recently interview at the Dallas hub for linehaul. Been with the same food co throwing groceries for 7 years and I think its now or never if im gonna get out. Any helpful advice on this decision?

Hardest part for me decision wise is the starting pay and just plain starting over.

Thanks in advance!

I am in the same boat, I have been throwing groceries for over 18 years. My body is finally starting to break down, bad back, shoulder etc. It is a hard decision to make, I have over 6 weeks between vacation and sick and personal days. I am going to try and ride it out for a year or two, and hope a shuttle run or non-lifting warehouse job open up. It would mean a big pay cut coming off the routes, but I hate to give up the 15+ years I have invested. Now is the time to leave if you are not happy, do not wait like me, until you have to much time invested. I had a chance to leave food service around 10 years ago and kick myself for staying, the work load is much harder now than when I started.

I have always known that throwing groceries wasn't long term but funny how fast time flys by. I know it's never gonna be easy to change. I just want to make the right move the first time and not jump around.

I have always known that throwing groceries wasn't long term but funny how fast time flys by. I know it's never gonna be easy to change. I just want to make the right move the first time and not jump around.

Yep, change can be scary, that is why I stayed when I had the chance years ago.

$80,000

That's M-F with 3 weeks of vacation

Are you having trouble physically doing your job? Because remember you are on the bottom subject to layoffs on a new job. Especially freight is so up and down. If it were me I'd think long and hard