Estes | Tell me about line-haul.

Impala

TB Lurker
Credits
I am considering a line haul job at the Richmond, VA terminal. What are the working hours? Mostly at night or day? How many hours/miles can I expect a week as a new driver? How do you like your job? How bad is driver turnover? I know, I know, lots of questions but appreciate all responses good or bad. I've been a long haul tanker driver for 7 years. (Total time working as a truck driver 11 years). Thanks.:nutkick:

you are not likely to hear very good things here about estes. alot here have been with the company a long time and have seen all the changes, 95% of the changes being for the worse. that being said, turnover is still very low...atleast at my terminal it is. i think this is just a result of the economy and the sorry state of jobs lately.

you will probably be out 5 days a week, sleeping in bunk houses and some motels. most likely one day will be a weekend day, maybe both weekend days. usually driving nights.

2400-3200 miles a week, depending on how much you force them for miles.

this job is usually for guys new to LTL. if i were you i would highly suggest fedex freight/upsfreight/conway over estes

Like the other guy said, if your still young get started at somewhere like Holland, Yellow, Ups Frieght, Fed EX.
The one that seems to be flyin high these days is Holland, and they haul nothin but 48 and 53 footers behind them no pups.
Wonder why they do so well?
10 years ago a terminal by me had 60 day drivers now they have around 130 or so.
Now that is some growth.

yea i agree holland is a great place. but they tend to layoff past few years. so if you are in a position that you can deal with it, then thats what i would do.

personally i would do a union place first
ups
abf
holland
upsf

then
fedexfreight/national

im going to do a side by side comparison of pay and bennies between the big guys in the LTL, should be interesting