The Best Way to Get Started

MikeJ

TB Veteran
Credits
Hi Everyone,

My name is Mike and I am 25 years old. I am going to school to get my Class A CDL very soon which is something I have wanted to do for a long time. I would really like to be a food service guy. I worked in a restaurant as a manager for a little over 4 years and the place I worked at was pretty busy so our orders of food were pretty heavy and I was one of the people who checked the food in and put it all away so I am familiar with how it all works. I worked at a very busy pizza shop lots of cheese and cans and pizza dough, boxes and heavy cases of ground meet nothing light and easy to handle ha-ha.

That being said I know that most of the food companies do not hire guys right out of truck driving school, which I understand. However I do know the Sygma (Sysco's Chain Division) sometimes trains new drivers, but it does not look like they do that in my state.

I was kind of wondering what the best place to start is? I was kind of thinking maybe Schneider or Werner on Dollar General of Family Dollar? My though process is Family Dollar or Dollar General is plenty of tight delivery spots and then you are unloading the trailer. I know Family Dollar uses the roller ramps and Dollar General uses the carts and lift-gates either way is fine I really do not care.

What do you guys think the best way to go about it is?

I live in Cleveland, Ohio. We have a very large Sysco Warehouse pretty close to my house it's one of Sysco's main terminals it even has it's own name Sysco of Cleveland it's a huge facility. Also Gordon Food Service has a plant in Akron, Ohio as well as a huge facility in Springfield, Ohio. Mains which delivers to all the Burger Kings just opened a brand new warehouse in Oakwood Village, Ohio on the east side of town they advertise on the radio for help from time to time.