Time off from OTR

Bramdombrwn1984

TB Lurker
Credits
I'm new to this, haven't even gotten my CDL but am looking into getting into the business. I was wondering how does hometime work with most companies? Like do I get to pick what days I'm off? Say for example, if there are 3 days in particular that I need off, I stay on the road long enough to earn those 3 days off in a row, what are the chances of me being able to request those days off and being able to get them? Oh also might I ad they're lets say a Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday?

I'm new to this, haven't even gotten my CDL but am looking into getting into the business. I was wondering how does hometime work with most companies? Like do I get to pick what days I'm off? Say for example, if there are 3 days in particular that I need off, I stay on the road long enough to earn those 3 days off in a row, what are the chances of me being able to request those days off and being able to get them? Oh also might I ad they're lets say a Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday?
freight's gotta move. you MUST ask for time off at least 2 weeks IN ADVANCE, then hope and pray you actually get it.

this is not a 9 to 5 daily job. crap happens,. you "could be" on your way back home, and something urgent commes up, like another driver quits or has an accident, and YOU are closer than any other driver, YOU GET ELECTED to take that load.

in the end, the freight HAS to move.

if you are going to be wanting the same days off, each month, or weekly, best you find another line of work.

OTR (or back in my days) was known as...LONG HAUL.....and YOU STAYED OUT, and got home when you could.

when you get enough experience and seniority, maybe THEN you can get home more easily, like i used to. but you ain;t gonna get what you want, right out of the box.

I'm new to this, haven't even gotten my CDL but am looking into getting into the business.
WELCOME TO TRUCKINGBOARDS!!

Everything pro1driver said plus (I'm Blunt):

First is your "WHY".