SAIA | Weekend runs

PistonRing83

TB Veteran
Credits
What's the policy on weekend runs? I'm a system driver and they keep putting me on a Sunday night preset run. I don't mind the extra money but working 6 days a week is getting old. I thought you had to volunteer for weekends and couldn't be forced?

When i was in the system I was always told i had to be ready to run on my reset. If they do not have enough volenteers to cover weekend runs then they will put a system driver on the run. I was always getting called out on sunday nights also. System is good money , but terrible home time usually. Have a schedule now , but i still hear the system drivers complain about how they are ran, so nothing has changed there. They really do need to figure out a better way to schedule system drivers instead of telling them " be ready on your 34 ". Sorry i went on a rant about the system, but yeah they can put you on a run if they have no other way to cover it.

the TM might be putting you on call to keep from making city drivers run on the weekend. I know this happened in GVL . if this is a every Sunday run then they need to put a bid driver on it.

When I was system driver I was never forced on Sunday night run. Unless I was on call that weekend. If I didn't want to go out I would tell them I drinking cold beer and burning some chickens in the backyard. Now if you off on Friday night that's a different story. They have gave me off on Friday night to cover Sunday night run. But that was years ago.