What happens if someone fail or refuse a DOT drug or alcohol test?

peter256

TB Lurker
Credits
Hi There,

I'm new in the driving field so please let me know about the Dot Drug or alcohol test and what happens if I fail or refuse a DOT test.

Thanks

According to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, trucking employers are legally mandated to test all drivers before allowing them to operate a commercial vehicle (2016).

If you fail or refuse:-
-You will immediately be removed from any DOT-related safety-sensitive functions.
-You will not be allowed to return to those duties until you have:
Been evaluated by a Substance Abuse Professional (SAP);
Completed any treatment, counseling, or education directed by the SAP; and
Provided a negative drug or alcohol test.

When you do return to a DOT-related safety-sensitive position, you will be subject to unannounced testing for drugs and alcohol at LEAST 6 times during the next 12 months and, depending on the evaluation of the SAP, could be subject to this testing for up to 60 months.

Hi There,

I'm new in the driving field so please let me know about the Dot Drug or alcohol test and what happens if I fail or refuse a DOT test.

Thanks
If you fail or refuse your career is basically over unless you work for a Union company YRC, ABF or UPS go to rehab. You can get away with doing a one line of coke on the weekend out of your system in a day or two as long as the company doesn't do hair tests. I know a few drivers who come in every day with kids urine taped to their under arm or wear special underwear in case they get tested. If you are a regular user always keep a kit with you a gallon of water, creatine and multivitamins when you are called to test have 2hrs to show up mix creatine water keep drinking and peeing as many times as you can then take vitamins before going in for the test you will pass everytime!

Hi There,

Thanks