ABF | When are we going to be working again?

yellowjeeptony

TB Lurker
Credits
I work at 064 and have been laid off since Dec. 14th. I have been working on the dock off and on but have not had an offer to work the dock since March 10th....where is the freight?

Welcome Yellowjeeptony!
I wish I knew the answer to your question! I'm a road driver in Alt. and got laid off in Jan. -called back the beginning of March and got laid off again this week!! Crossing my fingers and hopein it gets better!! The non-unions are slow too so lets hope it picks up!!

Hey waysho...man it really sucks. I can't wait until I can get back out on the road again. I keep hearing how good the economy is doing and how there is such a shortage of truck drivers, I just wonder why ABF is not aggresively trying to get freight to move? Somebody is moving freight because I-75 & I 70 are loaded with trucks moving up and down the freeway.

Every week in the local paper there are tons of non-union driving jobs available. I may have to consider one of these jobs unless things pick really soon.

PSE drivers are hauling the road drivers freight.Road drivers are sitting home on layoff PSE is hauling the core freight.Thanks ABF this is just what YOU TOLD US WOULD NOT TAKE PLACE.

They (ABF) really keep us in the dark and the union is really not a wealth of information either. All I know is that back in Sept. I left a good paying job to come and work for ABF...the only thing that has happened is that my savings account has been drained by nearly $15K since coming to ABF.

Hey guys, I know its tuff, be you have to remember that your 1st winter is always the toughest. when I was at Roadway it was slow for me too then the next winter it got better, by the time my third winter came along i had all the work i could want.
Same thing with ABF, my 1st winter was alittle slow, but this year I worked all I want. As a line driver I was even turning down runs so the lower drivers could get some work.