TForce | Youngest driver at your barn?

Diesel Smoke

TB Lurker
Credits
Im 22, started in the city at 21. My buddy also started in the city at 21. No other drivers are even near as young as us. I think the next youngest one is 29. Anyone know if theres other UPS Freight drivers out there as young as us?

Diesel Smoke said:
Im 22, started in the city at 21. My buddy also started in the city at 21. No other drivers are even near as young as us. I think the next youngest one is 29. Anyone know if theres other UPS Freight drivers out there as young as us?

There is one that is 24 at CMS.

We had a lot of employees that started working here when they were 18-20 years old 30-40 years ago. I see alot of new employees these days.

I started driving for a living at 17,but had to wait till I was 21 to get my first LTL Teamsters city job.
Which was 1966,I logged in 45 years,and have been retired for a few years.
But when we were still Overnite,our dock crew were folks that started part-time at 18,I trained them to drive Semi's,and hook sets in the yard only.
They all had to wait till they turned 21 to start driving for the company.
then they had to log in at least one year in the city before they could go for any line haul bids.
I'm not sure if UPS follows the same age requirements?

Apostolic said:
I started driving for a living at 17,but had to wait till I was 21 to get my first LTL Teamsters city job.
Which was 1966,I logged in 45 years,and have been retired for a few years.
But when we were still Overnite,our dock crew were folks that started part-time at 18,I trained them to drive Semi's,and hook sets in the yard only.
They all had to wait till they turned 21 to start driving for the company.
then they had to log in at least one year in the city before they could go for any line haul bids.
I'm not sure if UPS follows the same age requirements?

I've seen them put postings online saying you 23 and half to drive.