TForce | Zone Drivers

a zone driver is someone who does not return to a terminal every night. in billings and butte mt we have zone drivers. which consists of a cit driver and road drive that are based in billings. the road driver in billings takes trailers down to a meet point in Wyoming and meets a driver from Denver there they switch and driver back to their service centers. the city driver in the morning then takes that trailer and makes deliveries and pick ups. about 60 of these zone service centers are supposed to go in. so pretty much its a service center with no brick and mortar.

I was a downtown Boston city driver for Con-Way many moons ago. When it was announced that a zone was opening up. We were asked if anyone wanted to transfer. Since I worked for the only Union Con-Way at the time (Con-Way Eastern Express), it was done by seniority. I lucked out and got the bid. I not only became senior man in a CF parking lot, but eventually in a real barn. This is an excellent way to penetrate a market at little cost other than linehaul cost. And as your business picks up and grows, you add more to the service footprint. Great move if you can get it.

a zone driver is someone who does not return to a terminal every night. in billings and butte mt we have zone drivers. which consists of a cit driver and road drive that are based in billings. the road driver in billings takes trailers down to a meet point in Wyoming and meets a driver from Denver there they switch and driver back to their service centers. the city driver in the morning then takes that trailer and makes deliveries and pick ups. about 60 of these zone service centers are supposed to go in. so pretty much its a service center with no brick and mortar.

Your right. We are supposed to have 40 to 80 zone driver teams popping up in the western division very soon. UPS wants us to cover like the parcel division. We have to many open areas not covered.

And yes they will be union.