ABF Becomes Only Six-Time Winner of the ATA President's Trophy for Safety


Well-Known Member
FORT SMITH, Ark., Sept. 30 /PRNewswire/ -- ABF Freight System, Inc.® has become the only six-time winner of the transportation industry's most prestigious safety award, the American Trucking Associations (ATA) President's Trophy. The award was presented during the ATA Safety Management Council's Safety and Human Resources National Conference and Exhibition in Rogers, Ark., September 29, 2010.

"The ATA President's Trophy is the highest safety award available to motor carriers in the United States," said Susan Chandler, ATA executive director. "ABF has been judged most outstanding on the basis of its safety record, programs and community outreach activities."

The President's Trophy is awarded each year to carriers in three categories based on cumulative miles driven annually: under 25 million miles; 25 million to 100 million miles; and more than 100 million miles. ABF now has earned recognition in the more than 100 million miles category in 1984, 1989, 1993, 1998, 2003, and 2010. This year, ABF also placed third in the less-than-truckload category for local carriers of general commodities, 50 million to 100 million miles.

"Naturally, ABF is proud to be recognized again with this prestigious honor. Our reputation is earned by the consistent performance of employees, who bring value to the supply chains of our customers. So it is particularly rewarding to see their efforts recognized as exceptional," said ABF President and Chief Executive Officer Wes Kemp. "Moreover, our customers will be pleased to learn that their supply chain partner has once again earned the admiration of its industry peers."...............

ABF Becomes Only Six-Time Winner of the ATA President's Trophy for Safety -- FORT SMITH, Ark., Sept. 30 /PRNewswire/ --