Am i too old?

auburn2012

TB Lurker
Credits
I have been working for Budweiser for 10 yrs and i`m 51 yrs old, am i too old to start in the foodservice business.
I feel great and could work another 10 to 15 years in the beer business.

A 51yr old that's only done OTR or had sedentary jobs his whole life? Probably getting up there to start in this kind of work.

You're used to the grind. Totally different situation, should be ok.

No free beer, but we can buy it at wholesale price i buy a case of 16oz cans for $8.00.
I`m thinking abt LTL freight companies,however i`m concern about getting my 40 hrs every week. I know sometimes freight can be slow.

Last edited by a moderator:
Wish it would slow a little I'm 56 and its hard on the body but I delivered grocerys foor 17yrs and this is a lot easyer.

No sorry I don't but go on line and I think you have to create a account and a password and fill out a app. Then they will notify you to setup a interveiw, we have had a ruff go of it but the co. is back on track and there a good co. to work for.

I received a phone interview today from Sysco Gulf Coast. I thought it went good, she said it would be abt 2 weeks before i would here from them again.
Meeting the Hiring Mgr will be the next procedure for a sit down interview.

Your to old to be peddling grocerys but what do I know good luck!!!
Why would you say that? The guy delivers beer, and he says he feels good, food is easier than beer or pop in my opinion, or at least from all the guys we have from Bud, Miller, and Pepsi. He could do delivery and bid into a shuttle job when he is ready, and let me tell you Brother jackman, food shuttle is 1000 X better than any freight line job, way better, I have done both, and I'm currently a shuttle driver.

I don't know if you know that Syscos is trying to bye US foods and they will probley dove tail in.