XPO | Any advice for a new guy?

Pedalpumper

TB Lurker
Credits
Hi all, :wavey:

I'm a newly hired Con-way LTL driver. My start date is Monday, October 12th.

I'm an experienced driver with a clean abstract, who has done tanker, flatbed, and refer work over the years. Freight is going to be a new animal to me, but I'm more than willing to learn. I'm coming over from being a food distributor Class A driver, and the situation is a living nightmare at the moment. (I can elaborate on that if you wish).

My goal is to try and do things right the first time, while operating safely and courteously. I want to make a good impression with my co-workers, as well as the company.

Although I do not wish to be a pest, I'm not afraid to ask questions. I'd rather bother someone with a question than make their job any harder.

Thanks in advance for any advice, guidance, or insight you can offer.

welcome

welcome to the company.
good luck get ready for a lot of hard work......
and long hours.

be safe, be smart..............

don't believe half the stuff you read here.
we're just like all the others....
THE GOOD, THE BAD AND THE ULGY:TR10driving03::clap:

Thank you

Thank you kindly for the welcome! :wavey:

I'm definately not afraid of hard work or long hours. I'm doing that now, just not being compensated for it.

Every morning, I lose between 1 to 1-1/2 hours waiting for another tractor, because the one they scheduled me in has been taken out of service, or should be.

We're paid by the mile, piece, & stop. No compensation for downtime, breakdowns, waiting for decisions.

Almost every C.O.D. (by policy) I have to call the collections dept, who calls the sales dept, who calls the customer, who calls the salesman back, who calls the collection dept back, who calls me back. They will argue with a long time customer over being $2.50 short, only to have me "drop" it anyway an hour or so later. I Get 4 of these on a route, and that's 4 hours I'm behind and not getting paid for.