CDL and unable to find JOB! HELP

MichealDino

TB Lurker
Credits
My name is Michael, I have been pulling 40' plus trailers moving furniture my whole life and recently decided to get my CDL, I went to a driving school in austin tx paid a arm and a leg for the class! I did great in the class, made a 100 on my driving test and got my Class A CDL, im in the process right now of getting tanker and hazmat endorsments... Im having alot of problems trying to find a job because I dont have documented experience, seems like everyone wants 2-3 yr experience to even talk to you... Anyone have any advice for applying for jobs or companies i should look into? I live in San Antonio area Texas. I have a wife and 2 young boys so i would like to stay close.. this sounds bad but is there any way to BS and lie about experience? Im a good driver and im confident that i can hold my own.. wanna say thanks in advance for anything yall can help me with. Have to find a job asap my family is struggling..

Don't lie!

If you wanna stay home, look at your local LTL companies like Old Dominian, ABF, FedEx, Saia, Estes, UPS, AAA Cooper and so on. See what they have for local/Dock work.

Or you can look at your local beverage companies like Coke Cola or any beer company. May have to start out loading the trucks at night, but you'll be able to move into a delivery route position.

Good luck.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

Hey Mike, if your in the San Antonio area, look into Sysco, your experience moving stuff will be a big player, you can make a pretty good living and be home at night with your wife and kiddos!

If you have your CDL but no experience they will put you with a driver to help you out for a while, we do this in OK, in fact we have trained drivers and they have auto transmission restrictions, we are hurting for people, SA may be too, just dog the crap out of them.