CF name taken by Con-Way

CF ConWayFreight

Now that post makes a lot of sense, let it go you old farts! CF ConWayFreight what difference does it make !!!

I just retired last month from a 45 year career holding a steering wheel,and shiffting the gears for a pay check.
I worked as a casual city driver,and dock worker for CF way back in 1986.
They did have some real junk equipment.
It was hard not getting held up at any DOT check points with something wrong.

I was let go because I was driving a day cab that the clutch was almost gone.
I couldn't stop on a hill with it for fear of a roll back.
Well I popped a utility line that was to low going up a hill.
I knew I wasn't going to make it under,but I had to go for it rather than roll backwards down the hill because I couldn't use the clutch to stop,and restart again.

Well anyways back then Con-Way was known as Con Way Central around here.
And Con Way Central was bleeding all of CF's accounts.
Sometimes I'd go to make a pickup at a customers dock,with a Con Way Central unit parked at the next dock over picking up solid loads of LTL freight.
One other thing that was really fishy back then,was CF was putting brand new trailers in their system that were all white with vinyl polymer signage for their brand.
These signs only needed to be heated up,and then they would just pealed off to a plan trailer with no signs.

All of us city drivers were seeing the hand writting on the wall so to speak to what CF was up to.
But all of the CF drivers were hopping for the best.

YUP you guessed it the CF drivers gave the company their best,and CF rewarded them with an 800 phone number to call on Labor day that said sorry we have closed our operations.

Don't mean to cover old ground,I just thought I'd share the old days with you.

Anymore American employees are just numbers on a payroll list.
A little liquid white out,and your number is removed,or maybe its not paper anymore,but a computer record which is easier yet.