ODFL | Estes vs Old Dominion

BronnWins

TB Lurker
Credits
What's going on guys.

First post on these boards... Didn't realize there was an LTL forum.

Anyway I am currently an LTL linehaul driver with Yellow out of New Jersey. Been with them for 3 years 10 months and I was with Swift for 5 months to start my trucking career. I have a clean MVR. Yellow has been great to me...it was a pretty relaxed and low-stress environment so it was an amazing opportunity to learn by experience but I am pretty set on changing companies in the coming months (I figure around late feburary would be good, as I think its easier to learn a new system in warmer weather).

There are several different reasons I am thinking of changing companies.

1. Better pay (obviously). I think last year I grossed just over 80k. I figure I could be doing better.
2. I am a single guy with no kids so I dont really need Union insurance and would be fine with what OD and Estes offers
3. I want to eventually move out of NJ (to probably Vegas, Texas, or Phoenix). This would save me $5k in State income tax and lower my cost of living. If I want to relocate with Yellow I'd lose my seniority/vacation/etc, while with OD or ESTES with their transfer policy I would be able to roll over seniority if I am not mistaken.
4. I don't really mind being an extraboard driver at this stage in my life

There are several guys on Youtube that post alot of content about Estes so I feel like I have a reasonable idea about their system. There isn't alot of content out there about OD though so I had some questions.
1. I am very unclear about how this "On-Call" system works at OD and I wonder whether it would be a positive or a negative thing in my life. How does this system work exactly?
2. Also most of the job descriptions for OD says that most linehaul drivers are home every day. Is this correct?
3. How many miles a week do you think I could get working as an on-call guy on the East Coast?