Getting my start in beer

longhaullounger

...no longer uses Truckingboards.
Credits
I've spent about a month working for a beer distributor as a helper.

They've got me on a program to get my CDL. I already got my permit and did a little driving. I have driven the rig back to the warehouse from our last stop a few times, and I did some backing practice at the warehouse the other day.

There's a lot of turnover in this industry, but most of the route drivers at my workplace have been doing this for a while. Some of them told me I started in the right time of year (summer), because if I could make it through the peak season while I was a total newbie, then the off-season would be a breeze.

I'm mostly looking forward to the off-season giving me a little more breathing room to learn other aspects of the job. This month has been so heavy that I haven't had time to do a lot of driving or learning things like the handheld. Most drivers memorize our product code numbers that print on our invoices so they can check-in their deliveries faster with the store clerks. That part will take some time to memorize.

Long-term, my goal is to build some driving time and possibly get into a linehaul or city P&D job years down the road, once my body starts telling me it can't handle two-wheeling cases of beer every day.

Did anyone else here get their start in the beverage business? I'd love to hear how it went for you and where you are now.

I did it almost exactly the same way 12 years ago.went to foodservice for more money and personally foodservice was easier for me. but now I’m on easier street and am a linehaul driver. the reason being the foodservice companies want younger newer drivers so they can pay them less. at least in my recent experience Down south.where there are no unions in Mississippi at least in my area.so long story short get your experience and look for better work. that’s my opinion, and good luck!!