FedEx Freight | Interested in info about Linehaul with FedEx Freight

CajunRebel82

TB Lurker
Credits
Hello everyone, I'm currently a linehaul driver with Southeastern Freight (SEFL) out of the Baton Rouge, Louisiana service center. Joined SEFL in January thinking I was going to be a system wild driver (out 5 days at a time), but that position was eliminated at the Baton Rouge terminal. I'm now out maybe 2 days a week, mostly home every day which is limiting my miles to 2000-2500 a week. Usually, I'm on the lower side of that range. SEFL is a good company, I just feel like I'm not able to maximize my time with them.

I'm looking at possibly moving to another LTL carrier for linehaul within the next few months (or whenever there are openings). How is FedEx as a linehaul driver? Would I be able to run the road as I want? Also, how are the pay and benefits? I would join the Baton Rouge terminal, anyone work out of that terminal that could share personal experience with the Baton Rouge terminal.

I appreciate anyone's experience and info. Have a great day.

Cajun

Your experience at FedEx will be similar to your experience at SEFL. Home daily and you will not be able to run the road how you want. If your looking to be a system driver with days out at a time, Estes might be your best bet.
Thanks for the info. I actually had an opportunity with Estes before I went to SEFL. Thinking I made the wrong choice.

Thanks for the info. I actually had an opportunity with Estes before I went to SEFL. Thinking I made the wrong choice.

The only word of caution I would offer is be careful with switching truck colors right now. Freight levels are very low for this time of year and there's no telling how bad winter will be. That's probably the only benefit about FedEx. They'll always prioritize drivers working. No runs, you can hit the dock. A lot of drivers don't like doing that, but I prioritize my bottom line.