SAIA | lane departure, a potential danger on ice?

Clandestine_ice

TB Veteran
Credits
I find that if I forget to hit the button, after 15 minutes it'll jerk the truck back onto the road if I veer off the lane in the slightest. In my estimation, this could be a serious issue on ice. Is there a remedy to this madness or am I being silly. Yea, I know some joker will say, "keep it in the lane", but it just seems potentially dangerous

I have spent way too much time on ice. To paraphrase Forrest Gump, Wet ice, slide ice, dry ice, washboard ice, chainsaw ice, plowed ice, uphill ice, downhill ice, fall down ice, walk on ice, whoopsie ice, OMFG ice etc etc etc.

I see anti collision and I see anti rollover and I see lane departures on ice a liability. I am a trucker and when driving on ice, everything I am I become the tires and the vehcile. It is my world now. If I am trucking you pay me to use my skills on mountain ice for example to get that load there.

Its my specailty. My trucking school instructors found I was scared of moutains (HEight( then learned I cannot do ice. Well my first winter involved nothing but ice on a dedicated auto glass Account. That truck is loading on the dock on schedule regardless of ice, snow, sleet or rain etc. Or all of them or some of them. They no longer mattered. GM got their glass in a relatively timelly manner in the worst of winter the mountains could offer on the east coast.

By spring I knew I was bored in fair weather and sunshine. I need that winter and bad weather to really do a very good job with that old tractor trailer, car or whatever. Even a tiny bit of flying and a smaller amount on a train. I have plans to be instructed more on those three someday modes of transport as a bucket list.