Local intermodal for recent graduate?

JReding

TB Lurker
Credits
Hi folks
Interloper here, I'm trying to help a friend who is a recent graduate from driving school here in the Seattle area. Is there any hope for her to hire on in your intermodal yard in Sumner? She needs a local job, but without experience, no one will give her a shot. I feel her pain, because that's how I started out; I graduated from school back in '93, and lasted a whole month with Dick Simon before I came home (my trainer and I spent most of our time sitting at his house waiting for work, they kept dispatching and then cancelling our loads). I struggled, but I've been working local ever since (18 years at FedEx Freight, and now for the transportation dept. of a large hospital system). She is a 40 year old married mother of two, getting back into the work force. I've known her for 23 years, and I can vouch for her work ethic, and ability to excel at whatever she tries. She just needs to catch a break. Thanks for any input.

BTW, the reason I'm checking with you guys, a coworker from back in my FedEx days did weekend work for your Sumner facility for extra spending cash for a while, and he seemed to enjoy it there. I think this was probably about 10-12 years ago.

As a former employee working out of the Sumner yard all I can say is go in and talk to the fleet managers onsite. There are several other places that she can also look at including fedex freight. I loved my 13+ years at JB Hunt, the price for benefits and pay are the only reason I left.

As a former employee working out of the Sumner yard all I can say is go in and talk to the fleet managers onsite. There are several other places that she can also look at including fedex freight. I loved my 13+ years at JB Hunt, the price for benefits and pay are the only reason I left.
Thanks for the reply, sppollock.