Trucking Terminology Question

AllTruckedUp

TB Lurker
Credits
Hello all, I am an OIF vet looking to get into a real man's job. :courage: I am trying to decide between having a company pay for my CDL or paying for it myself (a school is right down the road and you always, always end up paying somehow..)

That's not my question though. I am doing my homework on some of the ways drivers find jobs. I've seen many of the load boards and such, but I am wondering if there is a term for a temp driver. What I mean is there a way to look for jobs where someone needs to you to drive their truck and load, one time on a route, and that's it. Sort of part time/temp work for an independent driver who doesn't have a truck. Am I making any sense?

I have tried to google... but if you type anything with the words "truck" and "driver", you get fifteen pages of ads saying "Our Drivers make $700k a year!" or "Pet and Mistress friendly trucks!"

As I've recommend before to others here once you get your cdl-A
Start a application on tenstreet.com or get the smartphone AP
[ Be very honest with the questions because some if most are very thorough checking the information ]
It's nation wide and gives you all the options possible in trucking

Hello all, I am an OIF vet looking to get into a real man's job. :courage: I am trying to decide between having a company pay for my CDL or paying for it myself (a school is right down the road and you always, always end up paying somehow..)

That's not my question though. I am doing my homework on some of the ways drivers find jobs. I've seen many of the load boards and such, but I am wondering if there is a term for a temp driver. What I mean is there a way to look for jobs where someone needs to you to drive their truck and load, one time on a route, and that's it. Sort of part time/temp work for an independent driver who doesn't have a truck. Am I making any sense?