Everybodies Turn

MikeJ

TB Veteran
Credits
Hi everyone,

My name is Mike, some of you might know me, some of you may not, I'm over on the food carriers side of the forum. It's where I hang out because I work as a beer truck driver. There's a picture of a beer truck I used to drive on a route I used to cover. I have a new beer truck that I get to drive now, my new route has me totting a 14 bay no more convertible sideloader, which is good because grocery stores were starting to get on my nerves.

Any how today I was at convenient store making a delivery and a man asked me if I liked being a beer truck driver? I answered well, it's okay, the company I work for is a tad shaky, but the actual work isn't to bad, until I have to wrestle a keg or two of beer down some old ricket stairs then it becomes pretty scary sometimes.

Any how the man said to me that he works for the United States Postal Service and they are having a lot of retirements coming there way. He said Post Office management here in Cleveland is atrocious, but if you can manage to be invisible and do your job it's not a bad gig working for the post office driving one of there tractor trailers from the main sorting facility to one of the stations. This gentleman said he works at night and goes from down town Cleveland to Lakewood, Ohio 3 times a night. Said you have to roll the carts on and off the truck which is no big deal to me, I push a two wheeler all day long up and down steps, so what ever.

Any how what do you guys thing about working for the United States Postal Service, said there starting pay is $20.00 an hour which is more then I make right now anyhow. I know they drive tractor trailers and some B trucks too, I don't know what do you guys think, should I look into the post office?