Estes | few questions about OTR Regional

nctruckin

TB Lurker
Credits
Hi all! I put in an application with Estes back in mid-March. They called me back for an interview 2 weeks later. Interview went great. Got a call yesterday to go do drug/physical. Will be doing that on Monday, she did tell me after that it's my background check...which could take a month or so, depending on courthouses(criminal) and guessing my current employer. So, I'll be out of Greensboro, NC terminal....and yes I'll be starting at 1700...which is fine, ya gotta start somewhere and I understand I have to start at the bottom...no worries. But, usually, will I be going into the Northeast? Will I stay in the Southeast? Or will it usually switch off week to week? I have about 5 years driving experience and was told I'll be going out with a trainer(since I have no doubles experience)...but for how long? Feel sorry for the trainer, those passenger seats in daycabs have no air ride! haha Once I start, after my first year or two, would it be possible to bid on an earlier start time.....say 1300 instead of 1700? Also, I've noticed all the new Kenworth trucks.....I have satellite radio....got an attachment for my antenna, it's a bar that would go where the overhanging mirror is on passenger side, would they be ok with me using that? I believe I get my own assigned truck.....and I'm sure it'll be an older truck, no problem with that, it's not like I'm moving my house(like I do now, when I get a new truck!)! haha Also, how long does 'orientation' usually last? Would I go in say 8-5 one day....watch videos, do hazmat test, fill out paperwork, etc then next day go in at 1700? Thank you for your time!

Start time for otr? You will have a start day being extra board. It'll be a while before you get a schedule run. All depends where they need you. Don't tell them where you want to run. You'll never see it. Just take the run given to you and don't complain.