ABF | Lawsuit will be settled for undisclosed sum later this year

TurnCoat

The IBT--Looking out for YOU...and...THEM!
Credits
I am a 25 year veteran Yellow Freight driver, now YRC, but will be starting with ABF on Monday replacing a retired driver. I will be on vacation from YRC while starting to continue my career with ABF. I am blessed to be getting this break! Hence, my fellow drivers have nicknamed me TurnCoat! But, it was an opportunity I was faced with and the TM at ABF was my boss at Yellow for nearly 10 yrs. and was very helpful in getting me on the ABF team. The last 2 years with YRC, I have seen some pretty amazing financial wrangling by YRC, the Teamsters and the Lenders. No one would have won in a court ordered bankruptcy. I always felt ABF had a legitimate gripe, especially after they changed the length of the NMFA. The concessions were necessary in my opinion for YRC to survive, but the extra 2 years was over the top. With this new money coming available to YRC, ABF simply wants a piece of the pie. They won't get $750,000, and with their strong cash position they won't get any concessions from the Union membership, but rest assured, they will get something. How much hush money they get we will probably never know. Let's just pray that our economy can recover to the point that all the freight lines can get back to capacity again, and then the rates can start picking back up and they can all get profitable again. I hope to get 7 more years paid into my pension, that's the gamble I'm taking! Working at YRC with the cuts was still better than being with a non-union outfit. Keep it high and tight ladies and gentlemen! Look for the Headline later this year, "ABF settles suit with YRC and Teamsters for undisclosed sum"

Welcome to ABF and good luck. I am not so sure about settling in the manner that you have proposed here. Where I come from when a TM brings one of his old driver buddies with him we have a term for him also but it is not turncoat.