ODFL | New OD Driver

k9219

TB Lurker
Credits
Hey guys, just started with OD about 3 weeks ago and wanted to say hey to everyone and tell a lil about my experience so far. Im at the greensboro terminal in NC and my first 2 weeks were with a local p&d trainer. I already had my cdl and both hazmat and dbls endorsement. I attended a 4 week school just prior to applying at od.

Back to my experience so far. My first week was pretty good except i didnt drive much..I had a trainer that is young and only been driving 2 years so everytime he got more deliveries over his computer he would say we gotta role ill drive. By the end of the 1 st week he was starting to rub me the wrong way due to the fact he constantly talked on the phone and everytime i drove he was a constant pain in the *** because he didnt know how to patiently tell me how to do something right instead he would act all pissed off and just say stuff like we got to ****ing hurry up. So naturally being a new driver I would say im trying but i am new you know. My second week was not that good by wed of the week me and the trainer had words. I had asked him nicely the day before to not cuss and act pissed off while i was trying to learn how to drive he ignored it so i i told him i was ****ing trying and was sick of his constant attitude. Well long story short he threatened to go to the terminal manager and I threw the truck in 2nd gear and started heading that way stating lets go then. But no he said he wanted me to practice backing more. The last 2 days i was with him i heard nothing else about it and did the best I could to learn something from the bad experience. My biggest problem was backing 28 ft pups due to the fact i had only backed 48 and 53 foot trailers prior to coming to od.