Yellow | What happened to the Teamsters?

truckinokie

TB Lurker
Credits
I am new to the Brotherhood. Before I joined I thought that it was only freight haulers that were members. I didn't know about all the other divisions. Does anyone know if thoes other divisions pay into centreal states or not? I was not around to vote for JH or TJ and I don't know beans about either of them. From what I gather on this site they are not very good. Is that the opion of most here? If so what can be done about it? From what I have seen and read the biggest concern the IBT has is to increase membership and membership dues by any means. Is that right? It concerns me greatly to know that laidoff brothers and sisters are not taken care of in anyway by the local or the national. I know this first hand haveing been one early this year. I fully expect to be one again soon. It also concerns me to know that most brothers and sisters pay little attention to what is happening with their own locals. I was so proud to become a teamster after 17 years of waiting. Now I am wondering if I am just to blind to see the writing on the wall.

Well to be fair look at all the good they are doing for the auto industry.
Saw on the news last night with pay,benefits it's like the equiv. of 70-75 bucks
Of course they are also minutes from bankruptcy.Oh nevermind my post isn't really
helping right now.
I do have a buddy who is in the carpenters union and they let him do picket duty
a couple days a week 75 bucks I think

What happened to the Teamsters??

Reading these posts, sounds like some of you guys would rather be non-union. Looks like many of the benefits we enjoy are being ignored.

Let's not forget that the Teamsters set the standards for most of the non-union companies.

So now...What has happened to the Teamsters?

I think the reasons are several.

I've been a Teamster since 1973. I've seen many contracts.