FedEx Freight | Will we go back to 10 hours driving time???

fatneck

TB Lurker
Credits
I was listening to the radio last night and heard that next week a DOT panel is going to make a determination on the 11 hour driving rule . If the majority vote for 10 we go back to 10 hours driving time in Jan.2011. I am not sure how I feel about it but, I guess we will all find out soon.

That would be a win-win for drivers, but maybe not for the company. Bottom line, they would have to add more runs, hence more drivers. Even for the company, all the competition would be in the same boat so it's still an even playing field. I vote YES, go back to ten hours !!!

:grouphug:

Let me preface my remarks by saying I don't work for Fedex, I never did, I am a retired driver. This is a controversial issue but let me just say that life is short and you only live once. I know a lot of youger guys are hungry for the big mile runs but my recommendation is, spend less, work as little as possible and take time to enjoy your family and your life. Accumulating stuff has no postive affect on quality of life, in fact I would argue that accumulating stuff can be detrimental to a happy life. Take all the time off you can get and never sweat the money you didn't make. A return to 10 hrs. driving would be a blessing to you all. Try taking an evening bicycle ride around the neighborhood with the kids or something simple like that, you don't need those 10, 20, 30 thousand dollar toys. Best wishes from a retired Roadway driver.

I have no problem going to 10 hr drive time as long as they don't go back to being able to start and stop our work hours clock.

[quote author=fed875 link=topic=82258.msg850023#msg850023 date=1279836291]
I have no problem going to 10 hr drive time as long as they don't go back to being able to start and stop our work hours clock.
[

/quote]Amen brother,I dont want them to be able to keep us sitting all night and be relieved of duty then via us on a 300 mile via.