FedEx Freight | Wires and preventable accidents

big dog

TB Lurker
Credits
Question Is it worth appeal process if you have a wire come down on your tractor on private property. I just received a preventable on this situation. I have been a city driver for 8yrs and have been going in this place for the last 2 and half yrs without any problems.Regional safety person says that does not matter according to the Smith System. Any feedback would be helpful good or bad

Wires are not required to be a certain height on private property, if it had been on a state maintained road you would have been ok.

It happens, and it's very easy to do, learn from it and move on, I doubt you will get anywhere with an appeal, if you do let us know.

We had a guy finish this appeal process couple months ago still the same verdict. He has been going to this bakery twice a week for three years. He got in fine on the way out he snagged the lines and pulled them down was trapped in the truck for an hour and a half made the local paper. I still maintain that some of the airride trailers sit to high as does some of the reclassed Volvos every line I have torn down has been with a reclass tractor and a Wabash duraplate trailer in locations that I have been many times thankfully I have always been on public roads. Good luck

On private property there are no rules, I had one snag me on a public road and it came back non preventable because there was an accident there the day before that caused it. Luckily the police officer that came by (this was in a little bitty town) was the one that worked the accident.

roog