FedEx Freight | City driver dock hours?

Driverdriver

TB Lurker
Credits
In years past city drivers were allowed to work the dock if they didn't get their hours doing p&d. We were told this was the rule when most of us started from senior guys, it was the reason some guys stayed in p&d as it was always said when it's slow the road starves but city can bump the dock. Is this in the handbook as now
people are told no dock time is allowed even if you don't work at all doing p&d. Just curious if any rules of this exists or not or if being full time hourly is guaranteed any amount of hours. It's crazy to me that part time dock gets priority over full time drivers.

I think it depends on your center manager. If I was a manager I would do anything to keep my drivers since they are the most valuable asset to the company. Dock can't run road or do P&D.
This is how it was when I was there. Local mgmt generally kept the guys getting their 40.
You may be on the hub, but the option for 40 is there.

I don't know of any policies regarding that, but we have several city and road drivers who work the dock at our SC to get extra hours. I've done it a few times.

In years past city drivers were allowed to work the dock if they didn't get their hours doing p&d. We were told this was the rule when most of us started from senior guys, it was the reason some guys stayed in p&d as it was always said when it's slow the road starves but city can bump the dock. Is this in the handbook as now
people are told no dock time is allowed even if you don't work at all doing p&d. Just curious if any rules of this exists or not or if being full time hourly is guaranteed any amount of hours. It's crazy to me that part time dock gets priority over full time drivers.
Hate to be the jerk I am but at FedEx Freight , rules , really ?
They are whatever they think up for that day or moment .