Estes | Estes out West

BronnWins

TB Lurker
Credits
Hi,

I am a driver out of NJ looking to eventually move out West, most likely to Las Vegas. I'm with Yellow now, but will switch to Estes or Old Dominion then transfer over. You can read more about me here: https://www.truckingboards.com/bb/threads/estes-vs-old-dominion.115848/

Anyway I had some questions about Estes out of Vegas area, specifically about how bad it is during the Winter and running California. I've been browsing through the forums here to find out what I could.

1. The snow
The thing about snow and mountains for me is that it really isn't that big a deal on the East Coast. I got stuck in snow in my first year of trucking OTR in Wyoming and I quickly learned that West Coast mountains are a pain in the ass. The thing is, no one ever taught me how to chain up. Never learned at my CDL school, and you don't have to chain up in the East Coast. Vegas always was one of my ideal landing spots trucking wise in terms of quality of life but I have always thought it was just about the worst place in terms of where you would be dispatched. https://www.truckingboards.com/bb/threads/las-vegas-vs-phoenix-linehaul-transfer.77378/

I would have to get trained on how to chain if I transfer to Vegas. I'm not sure what my question is really. How much is it really a pain in the ass being extra-board out of Vegas area in terms of bad weather? like...how many times a year do you typically have to chain up? And is it something where once you learn how to do it, it's not that big a deal?

2. California