Estes | Extraboard or Utility

FrkyBgStok

TB Lurker
Credits
Ok. As you guys know DMO went to a hub and lost runs. Here is the scenario.

Currently there are 3 linehaul routes and 1 hub route. These drivers consist of the only seniority in each class. I was a hub driver and lost my run as well as one other driver. They have offered me the opportunity of choosing utility or extraboard. I am guessing the other driver (above me in seniority) will go utility, but i could be wrong. They also mentioned that while there is no guarantee, they forecast that the extraboard drivers will be home most days of the week as they want them to be able to cover any extra freight the hub will create.

So my question is this. Looking at overall money per year, and potential for the future which route would you guys go? I am guessing that if a route does open up, it will likely be a linehaul route. So i am leaning towards extraboard just to get linehaul seniority (as i am close enough to the bottom of the terminal seniority to be stuck on utility if any linehaul runs open) but I don't have any clue about the utility class in general, as we haven't had one up until this point.

So I am looking for your guys input. i have 3 kids and a wife that is at home, so what would you do in my situation. I don't care about working 14 hour days, in the end, i need the money. i am not trying to come across as greedy and money hungry, i just need the money right now because of my past stupidity.

thanks.

You'll make more money on linehaul. If I was in your shoes. I would talk to a financial advisor and take the utility to have a more secure job and be home more.