I am thinking about getting my CDL

Silly Goose

TB Veteran
Credits
I have no experience in driving a Semi but thinking about starting . I don't have the money to go to School . I have a very good driving record for a Class D . My husband is a retired Trucker and told me that I need to get off the insulin if I want to be a Trucker , Is that true ? Does anybody have info for me on how to get training to get my CDL ? Any info will help please .

Insulin? Get off it.

You must have a Good medical situation and any hint of diabetes risk a special kind of Coma that can turn a 40 ton tractor trailer into a ramming machine destroying 20 cars and their people....

Schedules in driving is to the company. Your ass belongs to dispatch and cannot get to the doctor for more prescription refills of Insulin or Testing etc.

Your very good car record is good. But means nothing. UNTIL you have a accident, DWI, DUI etc as in anything when you hold a CDL.

Its good you have money for school. YAY. But the money on the road is going to cost you a :shit:load more money to maintain your nutrition and hydrate among other problems.

You will encounter situations that are not human. You will be swapping your body clock and fighting it every 15 hours trying to get mandatory sleep when you are bright eyed and busy tailed. Then dead tired when finally loaded and cannot roll because you have been awake on your feet for 10 hours waiting on the trailer to be finished loading. Be due somewhere next morning at sunrise 600 plus miles away.

Late? Yer fired. Orientation? They spew so much campy BS. The reality will hit you when you are finally after two months stuck with a babysitt... er Trainer and handed keys to your first tractor trailer which will have issues and is worn out. Some of your new issues will require shop work and be less than optimal for work.