Estes | looking to get out

mvniron

TB Lurker
Credits
I am a heavy equipment hauler for a construction co looking to get out. I am considering Estes or Old Dominion I live 50 miles from St.l . Seeking opinions on theses or others, starting pay and or all things involved not familiar with LTLat all. I have 25 yrs experience clean driving record no criminal background.any input much apriciated.

I don't understand why all truck drivers wouldn't want to go ltl. Nothing wrong with this place. I think they start you somewhere in the upper .40's. Money is easy to make here. I'm making the democrats real happy each week.

Last edited by a moderator:
I don't know what the starting pay is, but linehaul tops out at 54.25 cents per mile. Back when I started here, it was 8 cents less than top rate to start (for linehaul). I think extra-board gets a smidgen more. Decent benes and 401k. You must have hazmat and double/triples endorsements on CDL. According to the Estes website, the St. Louis terminal is looking for drivers. I wish you the best with your decision!

Thanks for the response I do have haz but let the double trip full off long time ago. Construction is terrible here and I'm tired of sitting home week's as t a time to only work one day then sit again . I seen some Estes drivers at truck stop and had good things to say about the Co . Whist is the difference between linehall , hub, p&d extraboard as I said I'm new to this LTL stuff ? Thanks again

Linehaul is hauling loads from terminal to terminal or to a half/way meet, and not touching any freight.
Extraboard is LH, only you stay out all week. Sometimes you get home during the week, but that's according to the freight levels.
P&D is city- you pick up and deliver, and bring back the freight to the terminal.
Hub is like a combination driver/dock worker. I don't know much about that category, other than if I'm not mistaken, their pay rate is lower (for doing more work...hmmm.)